Skip to Main Content

2019-20 AY What WAS New at the Library?

New acquisitions and highlighted collections from 2019-20 AY

2020.06.25

 

Image of dog with sunglasses; text summer reading 2020

 

The Summer Reading Selections have been announced.  

While you are encouraged to purchase your copy from a local, independent book store, you might instead want to borrow a copy from a library.  The Barbara Roche, SL Library will have print desk copies available for reference upon our return to campus.  Meanwhile, you can use your Nerinx Hall CONNECTed account to access print, books on CD, ebook, and eAudio versions via St. Louis County Library.  

Check out the Summer Reading 2020 library guide for more information:  https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/WhatsNew/SummerReading2020

 

2020.05.11

Howdy All!
 
All students with library materials should have received an email listing the items checked out as well as options to return and/or renew materials.  Questions?  Please ask!
 
BUT--what if you want some NEW and/or DIFFERENT books for the summer?  Yes, you can!
 
                                                                                                 image.png   
                                                             Question.jpg
                                                                        But, how?
 
1.  Use the What's New in the Library Lists and/or search the catalog to find titles that you would like to borrow.
2.  Email me the title(s) AND the author(s) of books (or other materials) that you would like to borrow before 12:00 noon, Friday, May 15.  (First come, first served.)
3.  I will check them out and have them bagged for you to pick up at the library desk (sorry, no browsing!) during Locker Clean-out next Monday and Tuesday.
4.  Read and enjoy!
5.  Return by the third Friday of school next Fall.
 
image.png
 
Stay safe!
Dr. Smith

2020/02/19 Update

Howdy All!
 
Just a quick note to publicize a new library guide to resources to support the 2020 African American History Month Theme:  African Americans and the Vote.
Check out what your library has to offer via https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/AAHM2020!
 
Of course, you can also visit the library--view Mrs. Ullery's excellent bulletin board... 
DisplayAAM.jpg
...and book display, pick up a candy-scented bookmark, and, yes, borrow a book or two (or more)!
 
We hope to see you soon!
Dr. Smith
Mrs. Ullery
Ms. Jackson
 

02/02/2020 Update

Happy February from the Library!
 
Come get your candy scented bookmarks (chocolate, Necco hearts, and sour gummy worms)!
image.png
 
AND
 
Do you love the Library candy?  Would you like a chance to win an "I Love Natural Candy" sticker?  Simply provide a short review on a 3X5 card of the next library book that you read and be entered to win one of several stickers!
image.png
 
You can complete the card here at the library or complete your own.  All you need to include:
your name               book title        book author
honest review
 
We will keep the reviews in the pockets of the books to help others decide what to read next :)
 
Happy Reading!

01/21/2020 Update

Some important news from the library:
1.  As meetings are now scheduled in the library before late start on Wednesdays, the regular hours of operation for the library will change on Wednesdays only:
  • M: 7-5
  • T: 7-5
  • W: 9-5
  • R: 7-5
  • F: 7-4
2.  The new databases page A-Z Databases is now live (woo-hoo!) The databases page--as well as the rest of the library website--is responsive and will work on your devices as well as your laptop.  The page is also reflective of the A-Z pages used by university libraries.    Compare ours to Wash U (https://libguides.wustl.edu/az.php), Georgetown (https://guides.library.georgetown.edu/az.php), Northwestern (http://libguides.northwestern.edu/az.php), Sorbonne Université (http://paris-sorbonne.libguides.com/az.php), and the University of Wollongong, Australia (https://uow.libguides.com/az.php)!  (You might ask why ours is reversed.  While we are using the same libguides software, I've reversed ours so that the introductory video is seen on devices before the A-Z list.)
 
Please note:  I used screencastify to record the video.  Unfortunately, it did not record the dropdown menus when I talked about them.  You'll just see my happy mouse arrow moving around.  Fortunately, once I clicked on a menu option, it did appear in the dropdown menu box.  I apologize for any confusion.image.png  I'm going to record short, point of need tutorial--and I'm going to use them, warts and all!
 
Happy Searching!

Latest Email Update

Greetings and News from the Barbara Roche, SL Library!

1. Happy Reading and Reusing! Come and get one (or more) of our specially chosen books wrapped in Christmas wrapping paper--the paper is made from recycled newsprint.  After you read the book, you can compost/recycle/return ​the wrapping paper ​(we'll use it again in the library) OR you can reuse it (maybe wrap another gift in it?​).​  ​But, be sure to return the book next semester as part of our no-hassle return policy​ (don't compost the book!)​.

Christmas Bulletin BoardImage of holiday books

Our new books for December are at the bottom of this email. (If you missed previous "new book" lists, you can always find them on the What's New in the Library page:  https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/WhatsNew).

2.  While you're in the library, be sure to pick up a scented holiday bookmark (or two) along with your compostably wrapped candy and books!

Images of scented bookmarks: candycane, gingerbread, and fir

(Sorry, electronic previews of scents are currently unavailable.)

3.  The library databases page will be updated over the break.  It's not yet finished, but, for a preview, see:  https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/az.phphttps://nerinxhall.libguides.com/az.php . You can still open all the EBSCOhost databases by using the "EBSCOhost Research Databases" link. You can also use the "Explora High School" database group link to search a specialized grouping of multi-format resources from EBSCOhost.  The new databases page includes a "cheat sheet" spreadsheet with the Nerinx Hall passwords (must be logged into your nerinxhs.org google account to access).  A menu across the top of the page provides users the ability to search for databases by subject, type, and/or vendor.

4.  Library Hours for Finals:

Finals M-W 7-3; R 7-noon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.  Best of luck with your finals!  

Latest Email Update

Howdy All!
 
Happy Tuesday!  We have some updates from the Barbara Roche, SL Library to share with you.
 
1.  As required by EBSCOhost, our EBSCOhost password has been updated to incorporate letters (upper and lowercase), numbers, and special characters.  The username nhs remains the same, but the password is now Library1! (this has the beginning "l" now capitalized to "L" and the ! added at the end.  The Library Databases page with the passwords has also been updated with this info).  
download-2.jpg
Remember, only Nerinx folks can get into the databases--the passwords are needed if you access the databases remotely.
 
2.  We have added a new database, Bloom's Literature from Infobase.  It is now available from the Library Databases page.
 
3.  CANDY!  Folks, we are going through the candy at an alarming rate! Please limit yourself to one piece at a time and one or two per day!  If we continue to eat the candy at the current rate, we will not be able to continue to supply the natural candy with compostable wrappers!
 
4.  Be sure to check out the new books for November (Fiction and Non-Fiction) --check out a good book (or many!) to read over Thanksgiving Break!
 
5.  Coming soon:  special Christmas display and new scented bookmarks in December and a new databases webpage in January!
 
Hope to see you soon in the Library!
Dr. Smith, Mrs. Ullery, and Ms. Jackson

Latest Email Update

Greetings from the Barbara Roche, SL Library!

Library Website:  The website has been enhanced J https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/Library.   Look for the “What’s New” section to see the new additions to the collection and to watch for the new Fall fiction (including The Testaments!) and non-fiction (currently under construction).  The What’s New section is a separate website https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/WhatsNew that will open from the main website into an additional tab/window.  If you didn’t get a chance to learn about the previous new materials, those pages remain available.  Library updates, such as this one, will also be available on the website—no need to save and search for old emails!

Library Databases:  The EBSCOhost suite, 
Encyclopedia Britannica, Issues and Controversies, Heritage Online, and Learning Library Express continue to be available for Nerinx students, faculty, and staff via the Library Website.  Remember that databases will only appear if you are logged into your nerinxhs.org gmail account.  Otherwise, you will not be deemed worthy to enter the portal and will receive the dreaded 404 error.  
Image for Google 404 Error
Please come in and learn how you can use these awesome databases!

 

New York Times:  Nerinx folks will continue to have access to the NYTimes remotely via any device for the fall semester.  This contract must be renewed in January—so be sure to show it some love and prove that we should keep it J  (Forgot how to access?  Check out the directions here: https://nerinxhall.libguides.com/c.php?g=891747&p=6971941).

St. Louis County Library CONNECTed Program:  Our partnership with SLCL continues for the 2019-20 academic year.  Our partnership allows us to access eMedia (yes, audio books and films!) as well as eResearch (limited access to library databases).

  • Students:  Your ID is 096+your student ID.  Your password is 1234.  (If you changed the password last year, it reverted to the default 1234 when processed this year by SLCL). 
  • Faculty/Staff:  Your ID may have changed from last year.  If you are still signing in with no problems—yippie!  If you are having problems logging in, please see Library folks.  If you haven’t yet accessed the collection and would like to do so, please see Library folks!

Other News You Can Use:  A student in a recent library session brought up the dangers of being hacked.  Always be vigilant when using any online resource.  Everyone is vulnerable, even if the CEO of Twitter! https://www.socialmediatoday.com/news/twitter-temporarily-limits-tweeting-via-sms-following-hack-of-jack-dorseys/562360/

Thank you for reading!  If you made it this far :), you will be one of the first to know about the

new scratch-n-sniff bookmarks for the fall! 

Come check out a book and choose a scented bookmark—
candy corn, fall spice, and pumpkin spice are available!

Image: Pumpkin Spice all the Things!

Even the library goes pumpkin spice crazy this time of year!

Hope to soon see you in the library!