LibGuides: Leonard Honors History : Overview Resources from Databases

Overview Sources

Overview sources can be found in both the physical and the virtual library collections to which we have access. The following are some good resources with which to begin.

Overview Resources

These are databases to which Nerinx Hall subscribes. If you don't know the username/password to log in, refer back to this Google Doc (you must be in your @nerinxhs.org account to open it).

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica/Britannica School provides encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards. Initial login is required.
Explora High School This link opens in a new window
Explora High School is an EBSCOhost interface designed specifically for high school students. Graphically rich, it provides access to age-appropriate materials, including topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and 60,000 top videos from the Associated Press.

Databases Searched:
Academic Search Elite
Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition
Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition
MAS Ultra - School Edition
MAS Ultra Reference eBook Collection
Newspaper Source
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center eBook Collection
Topic Overviews 6-12
eBook Public Library Collection
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete Reference eBook Collection
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Reference eBook Collection
eBook High School Collection
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies in American History delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

These are databases to which we have access through our partnership with St. Louis County Library. They also require a login. Please contact Dr. Smith if you do not know your username/password.

World Book Student
Features a layout full of images and easy navigation tools. Explore the World Book Encyclopedia’s thousands of articles and multimedia. Features interactive maps, daily current events, assessment tools for educators and a detailed biography center.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Information from many sources on popular research topics for students. Please be aware, viewpoints are biased! Be sure to review sources from multiple viewpoints!